Walk Two Moons

Walk Two Moons 

by Sharon Creech

As Sal entertains her grandparents with Phoebe’s outrageous story, her own story begins to unfold — the story of a thirteen-year-old girl whose only wish is to be reunited with her missing mother. In her own award-winning style, Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion.”

Two Moons is seeped with emotion, layered with tragedy but offering a uniquely structured story that weaves in and out of two plots as young Salamanca recounts to her grandparents a friend’s tale.

I wish there was a way to explaining it. I’m still reeling from this emotional reading journey. There’s so much  we discover in ourselves from reading of our brothers and sisters, whether or not they inhabit the physical plains or the realms of imagination.

I was close to weeping on many occasions reading this book, and the words flowed through me like honey. The story was there, coursing through me; whether that is a matter of the story having life in me, too, or that it is so beautifully written, or both; I can not say nor do I think it of tremendous importance.

A real, yet twisting tale that I would recommend to kids and adults alike.

Leave a Reply

