Belly UP

Belly Up 

By Stuart Gibbs 

12 year old Theodore“Teddy” Roosevelt Fitzroy has got a murder on his hands and trouble on his tail. Henry, the hippopatamus at the brand-new nationally known FunJungle, has gone belly up. Even though it’s claimed he died of natural causes, Teddy smells something fishy and it sure ain’t the polar bear’s lunch. 

Stuart Gibbs keeps you moving in his spectacular debut novel as you’re introduced to a young boy named Teddy, who seeks to uncover the mysterious death of Henry—a 4,000-pound hippo who one day, very suddenly and mysteriously goes belly up. Cue all the antics that ensue within the parameters of the FunJungle zoo—and that’s where the story really kicks off.

There’s no reason for this notoriously mean hippo’s sudden parting. After all, he’s still young, still robust and full of temperamental spirit. There’s something else going on here, something deep and sinister.

This mystery keeps you guessing, and also laughing along as the plot unfolds with startling detail and accuracy. No surprise, Gibbs formerly worked at the Philadelphia Zoo. His passion seeps through the pages and lends credibility to the characters and resonance to their voice.

It’s a great book that I would definitely recommend to any one who is young or young at heart and looking for a good, nuanced mystery, humour, and of course, animals!

2 thoughts on “Belly UP

  1. I love your posts! I’m also a bookseller at a major bookstore and I’m in charge of the Kids’ and Teen departments. My strength is definitely the YA books, so I’m always looking for recommendations about the kids side of things! Mystery books are something I struggle with for suggestions, so I’m glad to have this one to talk about now! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey!! I’m so glad we found each other. It’s always wonderful meeting a fellow book lover and book seller 🙂 I think it’s great that we can help each other out. Yesterday I had a woman come in the store asking for YA books and I actually thought of you and this post! haha, I was like hmm, I need to visit your blog to get an idea of what I can recommend 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

