The War that Saved my Life

The War that Saved my Life  by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley Genre: Historical Fiction  Age: 9-12  5/5 Summary: Ada is a young girl with the wit and strength of Anne of Green Gables. She’s born with a club foot during the second world war in Britain. Unfortunately, she can’t rely on the support of a loving…

The Bonaventure Adventures: Mabel’s Fables Book Review

The Bonaventure Adventures by Rachelle Delaney   Canadian Puffin Canada May 2017 Middle grade As a descendant of a famous Romanian circus family, Seb Konstantinov’s life has always involved skilled performers, animal acts and constant travel. But the once thriving circus has fallen upon hard times and its future is uncertain. While his father, Dragan, attempts to…

BEOWULF

Author: Micheal Morpugo Genre: Mythology What it’s About: Michael beautiful retells the epic tale of Beowulf, a brave young man living in fifth-century Denmark. He is called upon by a noble village King to defeat the wicked Grendel, a monster who terrorizes the small town. Where even the might of the sword fails, Beowulf relies on the God-given…

Siren Sisters

Siren Sisters  By Dana Langer  “The only light comes from a ring of tiny candles, flames shivering and casting shadows on the wall. My sisters are lying there and fast asleep. And they’re not the only ones. There are other girls asleep in that room, girls with strange hair and scales on their feet.Girls who…

Fatty Legs

Fatty Legs By Margaret Pokiak-Fenton The moving memoir of an Inuit girl who emerges from a residential school with her spirit intact. Eight-year-old Margaret Pokiak has set her sights on learning to read, even though it means leaving her village in the high Arctic. Faced with unceasing pressure, her father finally agrees to let her make…

Eye of the Crow

[GOODREADS] “Sherlock Holmes, just 13, is a misfit. His highborn mother is the daughter of an aristocratic family, his father a poor Jew. Their marriage flouts tradition, makes them social pariahs in the London of the 1860s; and son Sherlock bears the burden of their rebellion. Friendless, bullied at school, he belongs nowhere and has…

HOOT

HOOT by Carl Hiaasen [Goodreads] “Unfortunately, Roy’s first acquaintance in Florida is Dana Matherson, a well-known bully. Then again, if Dana hadn’t been sinking his thumbs into Roy’s temples and mashing his face against the school-bus window, Roy might never have spotted the running boy. And the running boy is intriguing: he was running away…

The Penderwicks

The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens,…

The Little Prince

The Little Prince By Antoine de Saint-Exupery Moral allegory and spiritual autobiography, The Little Prince is the most translated book in the French language. With a timeless charm it tells the story of a little boy who leaves the safety of his own tiny planet to travel the universe, learning the vagaries of adult behaviour…